Millenials Suffer From Nostalgia

Okay, I know what you’re thinking. It seems like everyone is obsessed with talking about millennials. The shocking truths. How to market to us. Our job prospects. How we ruin everything. How it’s not our fault that we ruin everything. Figuring out how millennial you are. Even about our breakfast habits.

Multiethnic Group of People Social Networking at Cafe

This picture is actually called “Multiethnic Group of People Social Networking at Cafe”. It’s so millennial.

However I’m going to add to the over saturation of this discourse.

I want to talk about nostalgia. And how us millennials are suffering from it.

(Disclaimer: One reason I’m tired of these millennial articles is how they paint a whole generation with a huge broad stroke. And now I’m about to do that. I’m a hypocrite.)

Is it too late?

I’m not the first to write about this1 2 3 4 5…∞. And I won’t be the last. I predict there will someday be an article about someone being nostalgic about nostalgia articles.

Just picture it. Vice/Medium/Mic./Generic Thinkpiece Site Presents: What Happened To The Days When We Talked About Nostalgia.

It seems like every day there is a new announcement about some now-defunct show or movie being shopped around for a reboot, or sequel that comes far after the original.

Heck, I’ve been listening to Carly Rae Jepsen’s new album because I’m loving the 80’s throwback vibes. And I wasn’t even alive during then. I’m nostalgic about things I never even experience first-hand. (But seriously. Go listen to it. Buy it. It’s pure fire.)

This obsession with nostalgia has been attributed to the rapid advances and changes in technology. I remember my family getting our first clunky, cream-coloured, home computer. And now less than 20 years later, I carry around an iPhone that is far more powerful than that first computer.

Of course my generation is so nostalgic. A lot of what we consumed, enjoyed, and were interested in as children, or even just a few years ago, has disappeared or has changed so much it’s not unrecognizable from it’s original version.

Full disclosure: I googled to see if that first thing was a pager because I wasn't sure. Because I've never actually seen one.

Full disclosure: I googled to see if that first thing was a pager because I wasn’t sure. Because I’ve never actually seen one.

It’s fun to use Facebook’s “On This Day” feature to look back on what we used to post online. I find that it makes for great moments of reflection. I get to remember times that I had with friends that I haven’t talked to in awhile, and start up a conversation. I get to see how much I’ve grown. I get to laugh, and at times cringe, at my old status. Did everyone need to know what I did everyday?

NO ONE CARES, 1ST YEAR JUAN.

NO ONE CARES, 1ST YEAR JUAN.

But the negatives of being this nostalgic start to rack up.

I say that we suffer from nostalgia, because it distracts from the present.

I know that this year, I spent a lot of time looking back at how much Glendon had changed. I spent most of the year joking about how “old” I was. But now I’m wondering whether in me talking about what Glendon used to be like when started, made me seem jaded or bitter. 

There have been events this year when I know that I spent most of the time comparing it to the past. And I missed out on enjoying it for what it was – a new experience, with new people, new circumstances, and with new eyes.

Nostalgia can be fun. It can give us enough pause to reflect. Our character, our personality, and our worldview comes from our lived experiences. But we can’t let it distract us from what we’re experiencing and living through right now.

I don’t want to look back one day (or next year) on my final year at Glendon, thinking about how it compared to my other years. I want to think of it, and every other year, as it’s own individual, unique, transformative, and amazing experience.

Moving forward, I’ll keep checking my “On This Day.” I’ll still wait for the reboot of Reboot. I’m going to write a nostalgic blog post next week. (I’m already crying.)

But I’ll also make sure to take every new experience and event in my present life as it’s own. And learn from each and every one of them.

As soon as I finished this post, this popped up on my Youtube “recommended.” I’ll chalk up to fate, and not that I spent hours watching Superfruit videos this past weekend.

Leave a Reply

