Kinky Boots and A Thank You To Drama

One of the best parts about being in Toronto is the amount of art, music, culture and theatre that is housed in this beautiful city. Back in October, my roommate Amanda invited me to go watch Kinky Boots with her and her mom because they had an extra ticket.

AND IT WAS AMAZING.

12248688_10153828198614954_1369928245_nIt was so good, that during intermission, Amanda and I decided that we needed to come back and watch it again so this past Friday, we went on a double date with our friends Aleks and Michael to go see Kinky Boots again, and it was even better the second time around.IMG_9169

The singing, the dancing, the jokes – all on point. And what was super cool was I recognized one of the actresses, AJ Bridel, from some local theatre productions I saw back in high school in Kitchener, and she slayed as usual – you might recognize her from CBC’s Over The Rainbow.

But overall, the best thing about having seen Kinky Boots twice in two months, is that it has made me realize how much I truly love theatre.

Being a sociology and drama studies double major, people always ask me, why the combination of the two, when they seem like such separate disciplines. And while I’ve been able to find opportunities to merge the two, (I absolutely love Erving Goffman’s dramaturgical analysis), I do recognize that these two fields have served very different purposes in my life.

12242319_10153828205129954_38263987_n

The theatre is why I pranced around on stage in my underwear as a dog/clown/Oedipus Rex last year.

Sociology has helped me professionally. Being able to ground my advocacy and activism work in academic theory, learning how to look at social systems critically, and seeing how problems in societal are a result of social systems put in place have all be thanks to my sociological training. I can see the direct applications of these skills and concepts in my career.

12226480_10153828217404954_1612575023_n

Disability Studies and Sociology informed my TEDTalk topic, but Drama Studies gave me the confidence and stage presence to do give it.

However, I have always said that my drama major has been more self-serving. It’s fun. I love acting. I love reading plays. But since I finished my drama major requirements last year, I don’t have any drama courses this year, and this has led me to both miss it and realize the true value in those courses.

It allowed me to be creative. It allowed me to express myself. It allowed me to explore my emotions, thoughts and feelings deeply. It allowed me to find the power not only in my words, but it other people’s words as well.

Me, circa grade 12.

Me, circa grade 12.

Despite how busy I am, when I saw Lionheart Productions was starting their callouts for people to participate in the annual Fridge Festival, I jumped at the chance to perform another Freezer monologue. I’ve performed in two Fridge Festivals before (my source material below), and I’m so excited to have the chance to do so again. When I read through my monologue, when I pace my apartment running through it and staging my action, I feel such a rush of creative energy that is unparalleled.


So this is my thank you to Drama Studies and to the theatre. From my humble beginnings back in grade 10, when I agreed to be an assistant stage manager (without even knowing what that was) to now, as I prepare to graduate with a degree in drama, the theatre has provided me with the best friends, some of the best memories and experiences and with a lifelong love of the arts.

Leave a Reply

