Taking Keele Courses

I’ve written previously about the fact that I frequently have reached out to organizations, opportunities and restaurants at Keele to take advantage of York University’s larger campus. However, last year I started venturing up to the Keele campus to try my hand at some courses.

I’m currently working on my third course at Keele, and each course has given me a unique experience that I otherwise would not have had at Glendon.

Exploring Disability – Learning About My Community

When I first switched to sociology halfway through my third year, I wanted to enrol in some courses that would help me get started on completing some requirements, but pickings were slim halfway through the year as many of the courses were already full. Having learned that I could take a certain number of my Sociology electives at Keele, I started looking into the offerings. The first course that caught my eye was “Exploring Disability” – especially since I had started blogging for the MS Society of Canada and starting to try my hand at being an MS advocate.

This course was great because it really opened my eyes to the important of representation, the factors that contribute to oppression and how I could act as a positive social change agent for the Disability community – a community that had become my community. And since then, having become more of a public figure within the MS community, I’ve kept in mind the lessons I learned during this course.

Introduction To Sociology – Passion and Confidence

The reason I chose to take this next course was because since I had switched my program, I needed to make sure that I had completed all the required courses for the sociology program on time so I could stay on track. During the summer, the introductory Glendon sociology course wasn’t being offered, but I was able to take Keele’s course in its place. So twice a week, after work, I’d take the shuttle up to Keele, spent three hours studying and doing homework, and then, because the shuttle runs on a reduced schedule in the summer, I would TTC home. A little snapshot of what the #commuterlife is like. Also, food.

As I had done a number of sociology courses already, this course seemed a little redundant but it did help my confidence that this was the discipline for me. Not only did I know many of the concepts already, I had confidence in my awareness of what they meant, and also felt passionate when I would explain them to my classmates why studying together.

Screen Acting – A Different Look at Drama

Finally, the Keele course I am enrolled in this year is “Screen Acting: A Non-Major’s Guide to Performance in Cinema”. This course is offered through the Theatre Studies program at Keele, but I approached the Drama Studies coordinator at Glendon and they approved this course to count towards my DRST requirements! When I first enrolled in this course, I thought it was going to be a more practical course about how acting on screen works, but it’s turned out to be a different type of course.

The course is held in the Nat Taylor Cinema at Keele. Yeah, my course is in a movie theatre. Every week, we watch a film, and then discuss how certain films use performance to comment on society.. I’m lucky because I get to bring in a lot of my sociological knowledge when discussing the performance of oppressed groups in society and what that means on a larger scale. Very different than my literature and stage focused courses at Glendon! Also, I get to run a blog for the course!

Don’t be scared or nervous about taking courses at Keele – they can provide you with a different experience, give you opportunities you wouldn’t have at Glendon and allow you to meet more people – I’ve met a number of friends through these courses!

Leave a Reply

