If You Didn’t Instagram Your Meal, Did You Really Eat It?

My essay writing night turned into taco night. Whoops. #yum

A post shared by Juan Luis Garrido (@juanlgarrido) on

Feta & Asparagus Stuffed Chicken, Pulled Chicken Tacos, Slow Cooker Pork Chops

Happy Easter everyone! This past weekend, I decided to go home to Kitchener to spend some quality time with my brother and my dog. My mom is currently in Texas, helping out my sister and niece and my dad is always on the road in his job as a truck driver. I decided to make feta and asparagus stuffed chicken, with roasted potatoes and a tomato-cucumber salad. Why? Well, because my brother and I needed something to eat for dinner… and I love cooking.

The end result: #friedchicken #sweetpotato fries #greenbeans #yum #delish

A post shared by Juan Luis Garrido (@juanlgarrido) on

Fried Chicken & Sweet Potato Fries, Beef Stew, Rosemary Garlic Chicken Pasta

For the majority of my childhood, my mom was a stay-at-home mom. That meant lunch and dinner made daily, and on the weekends we would always have home cooked meals as my dad would be home from truck driving all week. I’ve always enjoyed helping out in the kitchen, ever since I was a little kid. Although, I was somewhat of a clumsy kid though (still kind of am), so my kitchen duties would be limited to grating cheese, or peeling carrots.

Apple spinach chicken quesadillas. #yum #healthy

A post shared by Juan Luis Garrido (@juanlgarrido) on

Rosemary chicken spring salad. #yum #healthy

A post shared by Juan Luis Garrido (@juanlgarrido) on

Apple Spinach Chicken Quesadillas, Tuna Mango Lettuce Wraps, Rosemary Chicken Spring Salad

My love for cooking made a huge jump last summer. I was home for the four months, had no job, nothing to do except sit at home and watch TV, which more often than not would be the Food Network. Last summer was also when I decided to make a big change in my health and how I took care of myself. The majority, if not all, of my meals that I ate last summer were made daily and by hand. I stayed away, as much as I could, from frozen foods, ordering in and fast food. Since I was home all day, I also decided to take over the grocery shopping by keeping an eye on what foods we needed, and scoured the flyers each week for deals.

Fajita night? I'm 'bout dat life.

A post shared by Juan Luis Garrido (@juanlgarrido) on

Rewarding myself for a long day with some delicious chili!

A post shared by Juan Luis Garrido (@juanlgarrido) on

 

Chicken Fajitas, Mom’s Chili, Montreal Smoked Meat Breakfast Bagel

Another big reason I wanted to become comfortable in the kitchen was because I knew that going into third year, and my first year as a Don, I would be living off of what I made myself, since I would have my kitchenette and no meal plan. Before, I could make scrambled eggs and rice. And that was it. So I really needed to get a few more recipes into my wheelhouse.

For my first time cooking turkey, I'm pretty proud of myself!

A post shared by Juan Luis Garrido (@juanlgarrido) on

Pulled pork sandwich. One of my favourite meals I've made. #yum

A post shared by Juan Luis Garrido (@juanlgarrido) on

Not perfect but I'm pretty proud of my first try at chicken spinach flautas!

A post shared by Juan Luis Garrido (@juanlgarrido) on

Thanksgiving Turkey, Pulled Pork Sandwich, Baked Chicken Taquitos

This past Thanksgiving, I visited my brother in Kitchener and I made turkey for us since my parents were both in Texas, getting ready for the birth of my niece. It actually worked out really well, and I loved spending all day on such a delicious meal. I ended up repeating that recipe for New Year’s Eve for my family since most of them didn’t get to try it. And that felt really cool! The fact that I was able to make a family dinner – a task that usually was taken up by my mom and dad. It made me feel like I was growing up. And not in the usual “oh my gosh, I’m not ready to be an adult” way. But in a proud way.

Homemade zucchini fries!

A post shared by Juan Luis Garrido (@juanlgarrido) on

I made #dinner tonight ! #delish #momsrecipe

A post shared by Juan Luis Garrido (@juanlgarrido) on

Juan’s Green Eggs & Ham, Baked Zucchini Fries, Mom’s Spinach & Zuchnni Spaghetti

I can’t build things. I’m not artistic. Or musical. And technology I’m okay at writing, but it doesn’t happen everyday. However, cooking allows me to make something. And enjoy it. It gives me something that I know about. Something I can be confident in. A conversation that I can participate in, and actually know something about. I love cooking. Because I love food. But more than that, I love the feeling that comes along with it.

Got any recipes you love that you think I should try? Like one of my pictures so much, that you want the recipe? Comment below!

3 comments

  1. I totally relate to the last bit. I take so much pride in what I cook because I love doing it and I love to eat it! Nomnomnom

Leave a Reply

