Dealing With Failure

Failure of Netflix = Greatest fear

When people ask me “what’s your biggest fear?”, a few answers come to mind:

1. Losing access to my Netflix.

2. Failure.

Whenever I do something, I put a lot of work into and I hate falling short of expectations. Whether that be ones that other place on me, or ones I place on myself.

In Grade 12, I took Driver’s Ed, and went for my G2.

I failed.

I wish I could tell you a story of how I didn’t let that affect me and I pulled my socks up and tried again and got my G2.

The real story is that I haven’t been behind the wheel of a car in 4 years.

My thought process is that since I don’t like failing things, I’m definitely not going to fail something twice, so I’m not going to try.

Admittedly, not the best attitude to have.

However I’ve also had a ton of experience where I’ve used failure as a springboard for positive change in my life.

– Grade 10, I didn’t get a position on student council. So I focused on my efforts on the school newspaper and completely revamped it as editor-in-chief.

– Grade 11, I lost the election for student council president. But I was appointed as the first Social Awareness representative in the school board and set a precedent for years to come.

– I didn’t get into the concurrent education program, and since then I’ve found a new career path that fits my passions.

– Last summer I didn’t get any of the jobs I applied for, so I used the summer for personal development by changing my outlook on health, travelled and started volunteer blogging for the MS Society of Canada.

– I wasn’t doing the best in my French Studies courses, so I switched my major and am already in love with Sociology.

I’ve had a lot of failure in my life, but I’ve also had a lot of successes and grew a lot from those failures.

Yeah, failure sucks, but it’s also a great opportunity to learn about yourself, your strengths and weaknesses, your passions and to reflect.

Use your failures to learn how you can do better when you try something again, to find a new path in life that fits you even better or as an opportunity for personal development.

Don’t be afraid of failure. Embrace it. Learn from it. Grow from it.

I’m still not ready to start driving again, but since my G1 expires this year, I guess I should take my own advice and try again.

Michael Jordan, most known for his critically acclaimed role in Space Jam. #whatissports

Krista and Sarah also have a fear of failure, check out the video where they discuss it here! 
 
How do you deal with failure? Any success stories you want to share about how you bounced back? Share them below! 
3 comments

Leave a Reply

