Making Decisions Is Hard

SHE'S SO CUTE.

SHE’S SO CUTE.

My older sister and three-month-old niece have been visiting my family and I here in Canada for a couple weeks now. I was lucky enough to get to see them before I moved back to Glendon this semester.

There are a lot of differences between a three month old baby and myself.

We probably sleep the same amount. And some days I’ll eat as many times as she does. However one of the biggest differences is apparent when it comes to making decisions. 

Babies don’t make many decisions. And the decision to be laid down or carried is a pretty easy decision.

I, on the other hand, as someone living on my own in Toronto, in my own apartment and in full control of my schedule have lots of decisions to make.

Decision making is a little different in the Sims world.

Should I order pizza AGAIN tonight, or toss something in my crockpot for dinner? Should I go out this weekend, or have a relaxing weekend at home with my readings Netflix? What is going to be my Sims lifetime wish?!

Anybody that knows me is aware that I’m very indecisive about personal stuff. When I’m leading a group, or planning an event, those decisions come easy. In first year, I didn’t even like choosing what table my friends and I would eat at in the cafeteria, so I would always pay after them.  And don’t even get me started on choosing my outfits everyday.

This past week, I had a pretty big decision to make. I needed to decide which two courses I wanted to add to my schedule this semester. I had three choices, all of which were very related to my interests of study.

What’s a guy to do? I enrolled in all three, with the intention of going to the first class to get the syllabus to help my decision making process through them.

My brain was racked, and I couldn’t even begin to lean towards a decision.

However, I let it sit for a few days, and used some time to focus on other things, like moving. When I decided to sit down and make a decision it was a lot easier. Because I was less stressed about my choices after a few days, it was clear which courses I wanted to take more.

In university, you start to be in charge of more of your own decisions. You get to plan your own course schedule and you get more choice over your personal life.

Sometimes you’ll make good decisions. Sometimes you’ll make bad decisions. Sometimes you won’t know. I won’t ever know how my semester would play out if I chose a different course to take and changed my schedule.

However I am happy with my decision that I’ve made. I let myself reflect on it, and didn’t stress too much about it.

Now if you excuse me, I have to go take a nap. (Again.)

What are some of your decision making strategies? Share them in the comments below!

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

