My #OneWord for 2014… Write.

*This post is inspired by the #OneWord365 project. This project suggests to people that they should “Forget New Year’s Resolutions. Scrap that long list of goals you won’t remember three weeks from now anyway. Choose just one word.”

Throughout my entire life, I’ve adored writing. My elementary spelling classes where we had to create stories using that week’s vocabulary, learning how to write persuasive essays in high school, winning a spot in my school board’s literary collection two years in a row, and now delving into the world of web writing; all these experiences have contributed to my love of the written word.

However, besides this blog, SomeoneLikeMe.ca and academic papers, I don’t do as much writing anymore.

Sometimes it feels like this.

It’s not due to a lack of time. I’m sure I could squeeze some writing time in between episodes of Justice League Unlimited during my Netflix marathons.

It’s not due to a lack of ideas. I want to journal. I want to write poetry. I want to reflect on books, movies and TV. I want to write about other people. I want to write a TEDTalk. I want to write for ProTem. I want to write a book. I want write at length about my passions. I want to write short pieces to become more “pithy.” (Shout out to my Grade 12 Writer’s Craft teacher for teaching me that word!)

And so I’m going to start doing that. I may not do all of that writing this year, but I want to fall back in love with writing.

“Howl” , a film about Allen Gingsberg, and his writing of the poem by the same name.

I’m going to start journaling again. I’ll be starting a new monthly series of blogposts where I write reflections on different books, movies, plays, TV shows that have had an impact of my life. I’m going to diversify my blog style and topics. Je vais écrire plus en français.

My word this year is “Write.” What’s yours?

Gillian and Sarah uploaded their own blogposts about what their One Words are, and they’re great reads!

3 comments

  1. Pingback: #ONEWORD365 |

Leave a Reply

