My Top 5 Christmas Songs

I love Christmas. The food, the general spirit of giving and goodwill, the traditions, the family memories. Everything. I LOVE CHRISTMAS.

Christmas 1995, in West Seneca, New York.

Christmas 1995, in West Seneca, New York.

Especially the music. I absolutely love Christmas music. It’s so joyous and full of joy. And they’re classics. Everybody knows them, they transcend language barriers and bring so much happiness when you sing them. (Minus Blue Christmas. And Christmas Shoes. Those are sad.)

Here’s a list of my top 5 Christmas songs. I found my favourite versions of them, but I think that the beauty of Christmas music is that so many people have made versions of these songs, and I love most, if not all of them. 

5. Baby, It’s Cold Outside

I don’t necessarily think it’s a Christmas song, but rather just a winter song, and it stays on my iPod all year. But I love the playful banter between the two singers. I love the version they did on Glee between Kurt and Blaine. (I also love Klaine in general, so there’s that.)

4. Feliz Navidad

What kind of Spanish speaking person would I be if I didn’t include this classic? Besides “Yo quiero Taco Bell” I think that “Feliz Navidad” is the most known Spanish phrase in the non-Spanish speaking community. And you can’t beat Jose Feliciano’s version of this.

Also, for your reference, the lyrics translate into “Merry Christmas, Prosperous New Year and Happiness!”

3. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas

You can’t have a favourite Christmas songs list without having at least one song by Ol’ Blue Eyes on it. Truly a classic song sung by a classic voice.

2. White Christmas

Bing Crosby is often called the Voice of Christmas. That voice just brings about thoughts and feelings of snow, Christmas trees and presents.

1. The Christmas Song

This song is on the list because… well, it’s THE Christmas Song. Nat King Cole is another classic voice that I love. His takes on the Christmas classics are always wonderful and he does this song justice like no other performer.

Merry Christmas, Feliz Navidad, Joyeux Noël!

 

Leave a Reply

