Happiness = Productivity

I’m going to start off this post by being honest: I’m stressed.

I have a to-do list that seems to never end, and keeps growing. I’ll admit, part of that is my fault. I didn’t budget my time that well this weekend; yesterday instead of staying on campus and working on my assignments, I decided that I would go get my Halloween costume. And then when I got back, I watched Netflix. And then I went to see Pitch Perfect with friends.

So now it’s Sunday night, and I’m stressed because the school week starts tomorrow, and I have a lot to this week; it is midterm season, after all. With everything piling up, this mountain of work seems to never end. 

I decided to take a little break from writing a paper I was working on and once with which I had reached a block in my writing process. I decided to go to the TEDTalks website and look for one that would interest me. Considering my current state of mind, I typed “stress” into the search bar to see what video it would take me to; I decided upon Shawn Achor‘s talk entitled: “The happy secret to better work”. In it, Achor, a psychologist, talks about his research and theories regarding happiness and it’s correlation to productivity, and creativity.

One of the quotes that really stuck out for me was:

“If you can raise somebody’s level of positivity in the present, then their brain experiences what we now call a happiness advantage, which is your brain at positive performs significantly better than it does at negative, neutral or stressed. Your intelligence rises, your creativity rises, your energy levels rise.”

So if Shawn is correct, one way to ensure you are productive, creative and are working more efficiently is to ensure that you are happy. What should you? Watch his video; it’s very informative but also funny which aids in this quest of happiness. Take heed of his advice about meditating, exercising and/or journalling. Being happy means you’ll be more productive and will be able to focus more.

And finally, I’d like to share with you two things that always cheer me up and might be able to help you in your search for some happiness.

One is a website called Written? Kitten!. It’s an online writing tool. The premise is simple. For every preset amount of words you write, the website will show you a new picture of an adorable little kitten. Like this one! ->

And then the other thing I recommend is one of my favourite internet videos of all time. Ch-ch-check it out below.

And with that, now that I’ve crossed something off my to-do list, and watched that adorable video, I’m going to write about Henry IV, Part 1, and rewarding myself with kittens.

3 comments

  1. I hate the Sunday night realization of “I should have done more.” You make a good point though – getting more stressed and depressed just starts a downward spiral.

    1. Exactly! This weekend I had a different mindset going into the pile of work I had, a more relaxed, happier state of mind and realized that it’s a much better way to work!

Leave a Reply

