Just Like That.

My last post, “This Is My Time” was all about the future. Where I see myself in the future, my goals, my dreams, my aspirations. This post is going to be a little different. And by different. I mean, it’s about the past. The past year in specific. The day I’m posting this is October 8, 2012. Thanksgiving. I opened my @JuanGarridoGL  twitter account last year, October 7. My first blogpost was October 10; last year’s Thanksgiving. So I figured, this would be an appropriate time to talk about everything that has changed in the past year, and to give thanks once again! Last year, in my first post I stated that, “My current plan is to get my Trilingual iBA with a double major in French and Drama Studies, and at the end of this year I’m going to apply for the Concurrent French Education program offered here.” So, that’s true to a certain extent still. I’m still doing a double major in French and Drama; a decision that I just last week fell in love with again. I had an AWESOME lecture about the history of theater in my French Literature class. It reinforced my decision and my love for these subjects. I did end up applying for the Concurrent Education program; I last updated my readers on it when I had just sent in my application. (You can find that post here.) So where did that end up? In short, I didn’t get in. At first it took some getting used to the idea; since I was so determined. However, everything does happen for a reason. I’ve come to peace with it, and I’ve realized that it opens my doors to so many more amazing opportunities. Also, I’ve decided to pursue an Honours BA and not the Tri-iBA. So in the past year, I’ve focused my educational path, and now I know what I can and will focus on for the next little bit.

So what am I thankful for? I’m thankful for my friends and family that have supported me in this past year. I survived my first year of university and had a whirlwind of a summer. Now I’ve dived headfirst in to second year, and am prepared for whatever challenges and changes come my way in the  coming year. I’m thankful for the Glendon community and how much love and acceptance they’ve shown.

What are you thankful for?

2 comments

  1. Bad things can turn into huge opportunities, I agree.
    When I was in high school, I didn’t realize how hard it was to get into nursing, and I literally got rejected by like every school and the one I ended up going to was an alternate offer. I was so unhappy, but it *made* me re-think my life plan, and now I’m at Glendon.

    And if you can’t tell, I love Glendon. :)

Leave a Reply

